top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOnline News SA

Durban - The mother of a 10-year-old girl who was found dead has denied her child committed suicide.

Last Friday, the body of Reneece Parasuramen, of Stonebridge in Phoenix, was found hanging from a rafter in the roof. Around her neck was her mother’s Punjabi scarf.


Her mother, Ronelle Parasuramen, 32, does not believe her child killed herself. She thinks her little girl was playing and did not realise the danger she was exposed to.


According to Parasuramen, Reneece and her sister, Ranae Naidoo, generally went to a day-care centre while she and her husband were at work.


Parasuramen works as a call centre agent in uMhlanga, while her husband, Ronaldo Naidoo, 35, is a welder.


According to Parasuramen, on Friday, she decided not to send the girls to day care. Reneece was asthmatic, and because she had gotten wet in the rain the day before, Parasuramen decided to keep both girls at home.


She said her neighbour, Anita Jagathpal, agreed to watch out for the girls.


“I gave her the keys to my house and asked her to check on them every now and then. I made them enough food to last until my husband and I came back. I gave them a bath and then left for work at about 6.30am.”


“Reneece went upstairs to wave goodbye to me as I left. However, I did not look back because I knew I’d see my baby when I got back from work. Never did I think it would be the last time I would hear her voice.”


Exactly what happened next is not known. But, shortly after midday, Jagathpal’s husband, Ajith, went outside to do his prayer when he saw Ranae crying near the window.


He initially called for Reneece, but when she did not respond, he went inside to investigate. In the parent’s bedroom, he found Reneece’s body hanging from a rafter in the ceiling.


He raised the alarm, but when the paramedics and the police arrived, the little girl was already dead.


Lieutenant Colonel Nqobile Gwala, a provincial police spokesperson, said an inquest docket was opened by Phoenix SAPS.


“The circumstances surrounding the incident are being investigated,” she said.


Stasha Nulliah, the daycare teacher, said she was devastated.


“I take all the kids as my own, and this is heartbreaking for me. She was a very lovely and caring child and grew up right in front of me. She was with me the whole week and didn't come on Friday because of the rain. It’s all unbelievable.”


Sabrina Naidoo, Reneece’s Grade 5 teacher at Stonebridge Primary School, said Reneece was a caring and well-liked learner.


“She loved taking on leadership roles in the classroom and always completed her work with such pride. She always gave of her best. Our hearts are broken hearing the news about her passing. My heart is with her loved ones and her friends from school - they were all so close, and I know they are deeply affected.


“She was always expressive of how she felt, and that's what makes this news so difficult to believe.


“She always came to school with a smile, excited to tell me about how her mum did her hair and all about her baby sister. She was always sharing her sweets and writing notes to her teachers and friends.


“Mental health among people, especially our little ones, needs to be focused on at home and at schools. I pray our princess can rest in peace and always knows how loved she will always be. We will miss you, baby girl.”


Logie Govender, the Principal of Stonebridge Primary School, said the school would have a memorial service to honour Reneece.


“I am heartbroken and deeply saddened by her untimely demise. The staff, learners, SGB members and the community are devastated by this tragic loss. The community and a few sponsors have been assisting to create a special programme that will be held with learners, educators and parents.”


The funeral service was held on Tuesday at Berea Church in Stanmore, Phoenix, before cremation at the Verulam Crematorium.


The Post


78 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page