top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOnline News SA

Shallcross gran gagged and bound in house robbery Sitting in her lounge, surrounded by family member

A 75-year-old granny believes it was the divine intervention of her spiritual master, Bhagwan Sri Sathya Sai Baba that saved her from two ruthless robbers, who not only gagged and bound her with cable ties but also robbed her of priceless jewellery and an undisclosed amount of cash, on Thursday morning.

The shaken grandmother described her terrifying ordeal to the Rising Sun, saying that while she understands that police are under-resourced and understaffed, more patrols need to be carried out, with community security requiring strengthened efforts.


Sitting in her lounge, surrounded by family members, she explained in detail how the robbers had gained access to her home on Klaarwater Road, last week.


“During the robbery, I prayed, ‘Swami, let them take everything, as long as they leave me alone.’ I had opened the gate when they suddenly pounced on me. The suspects came prepared with gloves, cable ties, and tape. One of the suspects stood on guard next to me while the other ransacked the house. They had no weapons and told me that they would not harm or kill me and that all they wanted to know was where the jewels and money were being kept. After this, they searched for the keys to my late husband’s car, but thankfully, they could not find it,” explained the long-time Shallcross resident.


She stated that the criminals were extremely calm, given the situation.


“They were so clever. I was tied up in such a way that I could not move and was left on the floor of the lounge, where I could not answer the phone or get up to even press the panic button. I thank God that my daughter-in-law came to my rescue after she could not get in contact with me. I am very careful, I always read the paper and feel sad for the victims of such instances. Never would I have thought that this would happen to me. In my mind, I thought that I was going to die, but thankfully, Swami saved me,” she added.


In addition to the trauma and the loss of valuable possessions and cash, the cable ties were tight enough to cut the gran’s legs


Her son, *Mark Naidoo, (not his real name), explained that they have lived in Shallcross for decades, and that the vacant land behind his mother’s home is to blame for the increase in crime in the area.


“There is a wasteland between the school behind the houses on the road and the properties. It is through this that criminals are provided with the perfect alley to target us. The necessary role-players need to take control of the area and fence. They need to clean and secure the vacant land. Visible policing and a strong partnership between the CPF and law enforcement is imperative to controlling the crime scourge,” said the 55-year-old.


Communications officer of Chatsworth SAPS, Cpt Cheryl Pillay, commented on the situation.


“On Thursday morning, a 75-year-old pensioner was accosted by armed suspects at her home in Shallcross. The suspects fled with household items and jewellery. Chatsworth police are investigating a case of house robbery,” said Cpt Pillay.

3 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page